Di-Corp congratulates 2023 Don Peteherych Award Recipients

Di-Corp congratulates 2023 Don Peteherych Award Recipients

Calgary, AB, Canada, June 6, 2023 – Di-Corp is pleased to congratulate the 2023 recipients of the Di-Corp Don Peteherych Awards with the University of Calgary (U of C) and the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT). These awards were created to honour the memory of Don Peteherych, a former partner in what has now become known as Di-Corp, and a memorable force in the oilfield service industry of western Canada.

The annual Don Peteherych bursary with U of C, valued at up to $3000 per recipient, is awarded to as many as three continuing students enrolled in either Chemical and Petroleum Engineering or Oil & Gas Engineering. The 2023 U of C recipients, whom each received $2,730, are Matthew Cochrane, Whitney Ebose, and Thomson Midzi. All three are Chemical Engineering students at the University of Calgary’s Schulich School of Engineering.

“I am deeply honoured and grateful to accept this award. This bursary means more to me than just financial support; it is a recognition of my hard work and dedication to pursuing my academic and career goals,” says recipient Matthew Cochrane. “I am committed to making a positive impact by pursuing an energy career … providing clean, safe and economical energy for my community and in the world, and this award will help me achieve that.”

“A heartfelt thank you. Words cannot describe the kind of impact this award has made, not only towards my financial stability to be able to pay my tuition fees, but in allowing me to stay enrolled, take on even more leadership opportunities and keep aiming higher,” says recipient Thomson Midzi. “I was born and raised in Zimbabwe, and have always been passionate about energy, which inspired me to do an undergraduate degree in chemical engineering here. I have made it my mission to put myself in positions to learn the most, and where my abilities can be tested.”

2023 Don Peteherych Bursary recipients Whitney Ebose and Thomson Midzi of the University of Calgary (Matthew Cochrane not pictured).

In addition, Di-Corp is pleased to congratulate the 2023 recipients of the Di-Corp Don Peteherych Memorial Awards at SAIT Polytechnic. The Di-Corp Don Peteherych Endowment Fund supports one or more awards annually for students in the Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Technology programs at SAIT. The award is valued at $1800 and is awarded to third-semester students determined to have the potential to succeed, have financial need, and demonstrate leadership qualities such as volunteerism and community involvement.

For 2023, the Don Peteherych Memorial was awarded to two students from each program, for a total of four scholarship awards. Di-Corp congratulates Bilal Saleem and Salauddin Altafhusen Shaikh for their achievement in Chemical Engineering Technology and Devin Clark and Nitin Nitin for their achievement in Petroleum Engineering Technology.

2023 Don Peteherych Memorial Scholarship recipients Nitin Nitin and Salauddin Altafhusen Shaikh of SAIT (Devin Clark and Bilal Saleem not pictured).

Di-Corp was honoured to establish the Don Peteherych bursaries after Don’s passing in 2009 and are pleased to continue honouring his memory by supporting students who will continue to grow the Canadian energy industry that Don so loved. U of C students interested in applying for the 2024 Don Peteherych Bursary can learn more here: https://www.ucalgary.ca/registrar/awards/don-peteherych-bursary.  Students at SAIT Polytechnic’s MacPhail School of Energy can learn more by searching for the Don Peteherych Award in the SAIT Scholarships, Bursaries and Awards Directory: https://www.sait.ca/admissions/tuition-and-financial-aid/student-awards/scholarships-bursaries-and-awards-directory

You might also like

Learn More About Our Drilling Equipment
& Supplies